Barefeet welcome!

Well, spring has finally sprung here in Pennsylvania, although it’s felt like summer the past week!

Just in time for spring, I completed my spring wreath. In a previous post I described the spring wreath that I made during my Crafts and Cocktails get together. I then had grand plans of crocheting a scalloped lace ribbon to hang the wreath with. Well I did and it was a beautiful disaster. The scalloped lace ribbon came out nicely. I used a fine, bright white, crochet thread and spent many a night working on it after the kids were in bed. My husband and I hung the wreath when the lace ribbon was complete. I actually use an upside-down command hook on the inside of our front door to hang my wreaths with. The ribbon was a little thick to go over the top of the door, but I thought it would still work fine.

The next morning when my husband headed out the front door with the dog, the slack that had been created by closing the door released and my wreath fell to the ground and broke into three pieces right on the front porch. I did a little wreath surgery, if you will, that night. I couldn’t use hot glue because that just melted the foam base. I joined the pieces together and used straight pins to reconnect them. If you look closely in the picture, you can see the green, pearly heads of the pins. Perhaps the saddest part was that I had stitched the crocheted lace ribbon together around the wreath and there was no other way to get it off other than cutting right through it. I may have shed a tear or two when I had to ruin it to remove it. Since my first idea didn’t work, I bought a clean, plain, white ribbon to hang the wreath over the door with.

Despite it’s tragic history, I think it looks beautiful on the front door. I like the contrast of the bright and airy wreath against the black. The next season in our house is birthday season for our son who is turning two. My next wreath will be one to celebrate his birthday and I’m making a spare for the giveaway too. Which reminds me, don’t forget to enter!

Front Door

wreath

Leave a Reply

