Master of the dairy-free cheese sauce!

I love cheese!

Image Courtesy of freedigitalphotos.net

The picture says it all. I love cheese. That’s the main reason having to go dairy free has been difficult. Well, that and chocolate, but that’s another story.

Luckily both my husband and toddler are on this journey with me. Sure every once in a while they’ll get a pizza and I’ll have to order something much less exciting, without cheese. But it’s nice for us all to share a meal so we’ve come up with some of our own tricks along the way.

I have good news for all of your cheese lovers who cannot eat dairy; I have mastered the dairy-free cheese sauce! It’s so easy too! It reminds me of Velveeta and we use it on everything. I make a dairy-free chili mac with it as well as a Mexican beans and rice casserole. Although it’s not real cheese, it’s as close as I can get right now.

Dairy-Free Cheese Sauce

-1 cup chicken stock

-1 bag Daiya cheddar style shreds

-1/2 teaspoon salt

1. Heat the chicken stock in saucepan until hot, not boiling.

2. Add the bag of Daiya and stir until melted and blended.

3. Add the salt and stir.

4. Pour over your favorite noodles, casserole, or mix with salsa and enjoy with dairy-free tortilla chips!

Leave a Reply

