Crockpot Chicken Tacos

20130529-140628.jpg

Being dairy free isn’t always easy, or appetizing for that matter, so when I find a tasty recipe that my family loves I get excited!

While browsing Pinterest, I found a recipe for crockpot chicken tacos. It was so easy! You can find the recipe here.

I’m a fan because it only called for four to six chicken breasts, one sixteen ounce jar of salsa, and one pouch of taco seasoning. I went with four chicken breasts, Ortega reduced sodium taco seasoning, and Newman’s Own medium pineapple salsa. After seven hours cooked on low, it looked like this…

20130529-141110.jpg

It appeared to be a little soupy. I then shredded the chicken which was so easy. It basically fell apart when I stirred it with a fork. It soaked up all the yummy juices and looked like this…

20130529-141251.jpg

We used the chicken in soft taco shells and garnished them with Daiya’s dairy free cheddar style shreds, shredded lettuce, and guacamole. They were absolutely delicious! I’m always excited when I make something for dinner that my son likes and he ate an entire taco! Although, come to think of it, he’s never met a food he doesn’t like!

Give the recipe a try and let me know what you think!

1 Comment

Leave a comment