An Easy Fourth of July Wreath

20130627-084014.jpg

It was about time to take down my son’s birthday celebration wreath and replace it with something patriotic to celebrate the Fourth of July. Last night, two of my girlfriends came over and we made these easy Fourth of July wreaths, and enjoyed some drinks and appetizers of course.

All you need to make this wreath is a foam wreath form, red, white, and blue yarn, white buttons, ribbon to hang it with, and a hot glue gun; all of which can be purchased at your local craft store.

This was the first time I used one of the wreath forms with the squared edges and I really like how it turned out! Before I began, I used a Sharpie to mark one quarter of the wreath and then thirteen smaller sections for the stripes.

This wreath is as simple as wrapping yarn around the form. In order to obtain the look of our country’s flag, the upper left quarter is blue and then the other sections are alternating red and white to represent the stripes. I decided to go for more of a navy blue and a darker red to get a more rustic look.

Once the wreath form was wrapped with yarn, I placed the buttons where I wanted them first then began to glue them on using my hot glue gun. As true to life as I tried to keep the rest of the wreath, there was no way I was fitting fifty buttons on here to represent the fifty stars!

I chose a sheer, silver, glittery ribbon to hang the wreath with. As I’ve mentioned in previous posts, I don’t use a traditional wreath hanger, rather an upside-down command hook on the inside of my front door.

I love the finished look and it was so easy to do! It’s similar to my St. Patrick’s Day wreath with the stripes, and it’s already gotten me thinking ahead to Christmas. I’m thinking I’ll do something similar with red and white stripes and maybe some felt rosettes.

Leave a Reply

