Handmade Anniversary Gift

Today is my sixth wedding anniversary. This year I decided to make my husband a gift, something to add to our home decor. Here’s what I made!

20130707-084717.jpg

It was so easy! I purchased an 8×10 photo frame from Michael’s, teal scrapbook paper, heart shaped paper brads, and the most amazing crafting tool that ever existed! Did you know Fiskars makes shape punches? I got the large heart, but they have a whole variety of shapes. I was so excited to find one because I was dreading having to try to trace and cut out six identical hearts. You can find them here.

I decided on the six locations I wanted to include and simply printed out a google map for each. I cut them into hearts using the Fiskars heart punch. I inserted a heart shaped brad over Google’s little map pin because it’s much cuter!

Then in Microsoft Word I typed up the description for each; where we met, where we wed, honeymoon, first home, where our lives were born, and where we’ll spend forever.

After everything was cut I measured and marked the paper so the hearts would be evenly spaced. I used scotch tape to attach the map hearts and descriptions, but you could use craft glue.

Finally, I reassembled the frame and there you have it, a meaningful, handmade anniversary gift for your love.

6 Comments

  1. How did you decide the locations? Any other ideas of what to do for the hearts (memories/places)? I like this, but need a touch more direction. Made her a crystal bracelet for the 5th and a memory/date pillow for the 4th. So I am looking for ideas/a little more direction. Thank you.

    • The locations are where we met, where we got married, where our honeymoon was, where our first home was, where our children were born, and where we bought our forever home. So basically, locations that are important to us. You can get shape cutters in many shapes at Michaels if you’d like to use something different. Let me know how it goes and what you come up with!

Leave a Reply

